Contemporary Room Decor- Summer pt. 2- No Bad Days (this is so late)

I’m not sure why i bothered. This is so freaking late. I guess that’s why it’s contemporary room decor instead of summer room decor part two.  Anyways, this is the second part. These are just simple and cute room decor ideas that I thought were kind of contemporary.

Do any of you like Rise Against and Papa Roach? You guys should totally check them out!

Who’s been keeping up with Guilty Party? I missed a few vlogs, but I’ll try and catch up tomorrow. The plot is thickening! I wonder who Emma’s next target will be. Who took the photo of Preston and Charlie? I’m betting either Tess or Emma.

image_1

  1. Wall Hanging

You will need two colors of yarn and a wooden dowel. To embellish my dowel rod, I used a furniture stain touch-up marker to stain it a darker color

Step One. What you want to do first is take your two colors of yarn together and cuta long string. It should be double the length you want. Then, fold in half and slide under the dowel. The top part with the loop is the most important. You need to find it, and then you fold up the bottom and thread it through. One you are happy, you can stop and mole on to the tassel.

Step Two. To make the tassel, take your yarn and loop it multiple times around an object. I tried my fingers and almost cut off the circulation, so I wouldn’t recommend that. Then, slide it off and tie with another piece of yarn. Cut the loop so it actually looks like a tassel, then add to the dowel and hang on the wall to finish.

image_2

2. Copper Foil

You will need copper foil, black paint or ink and a Popsicle stick.

Step One. Cut a piece of copper foil. Trace a landscape onto the foil. I drew my landscape, but you can totally work off of a real image, it just may be a little more difficult. In order to get the image, lay your landscape over top the foil and trace hard with a pen to get an imprint.

Step Two. Flip your foil over, then look at the areas that you want to have sticking out. Go over them hard with a Popsicle stick so that they will stick out, then flip over and do the same for all areas you want sunken in.

Step Three, Take a sponge and cover your foil in black ink or paint. I used India ink, and it made the biggest freaking mess possible, so just keep that in mind if you are using ink. Let it mostly dry, then wipe off. To get a burnished effect, you may need to do it multiple times.

image_3

3. Jewellery Display

This one is more of a hack. You will need three pushpins of the same color.

Mark out where on the wall you want your hooks to be, and simply press the pushpins into the wall. Add your necklaces and other jewellery to finish

 

Sorry this was so late…. I should have some Halloween and fall decor up soon. I just need actual time to do the DIYs, and sometimes coming up with ideas is really difficult. But i really am trying. So yeah. Between school and homework, I ma not get it up until really late October, so just bear with me and check out The Lifestyle Of An Awkward Teen Almost Genius, my other blog.

I’ll see you guys in my next post, so until next time..

-Tash

Leave a Reply

